Cinnamon Syrup

I created this recipe a few years ago when we had a huge group of people at my parent’s cabin. We had put the ingredients for our homemade maple syrup on the stove and realized there wasn’t any maple flavoring. There was a plate full of pancakes on the table and we needed syrup. I looked into the cupboard to see if I could figure out what we could flavor the already cooking syrup with. I instantly knew that cinnamon would be PERFECT. I am a cinnamon loving girl and was thrilled at how well it turned out. I make this for my family sometimes when we are tired of the homemade fruit syrups from the freezer or the homemade maple. I have found the combination of sliced bananas on top of pancakes with cinnamon syrup is heavenly.

Just typing about this recipe makes me want to go and make a plate full of pancakes for my cinnamon syrup (even if it is 11;30 at night)!!

Homemade Cinnamon Syrup

1 c corn syrup
1/2 brown sugar
1/2 water
1 T butter
1/2 to 1 heaping t full of cinnamon (depends on how strong you like you cinnamon to be)

Boil corn syrup, bs and water for a few minutes or until desired thickness. Be careful not to over cook or scorch the syrup. Take the pan off the heat and add butter and cinnamon.

Leave a comment